Biden Names 13 to COVID-19 Task Force


Vivek Murthy, M.D., MBA, former surgeon general, David Kessler, M.D., former FDA commissioner, and Marcella Nunez-Smith, M.D., M.H.S., an associate professor at Yale Medical School are the co-chairs

Here are the 13 members of COVID-19 task force.

Rick Bight, M.D. Bight was pushed out of his job as head of the Biomedical Advanced Research and Development Authority earlier this year.

Luciana Borio, M.D. Borio is a biodefense expertise. Her LinkedIn page says she worked at the FDA for just under nine years where her top job was acting chief scientist. Her LinkedIn bio page says she is vice president, technical staff at In-Q-Tel.

Ezekiel Emanuel, M.D. Emanuel, now a professor at the University of Pennsylvania, was a top health official during the Obama administration and one of the architects of the ACA. His most recent book is Which Country Has the World Best's Healthcare.

Atul Gawande, M.D. Gawande, a professor of surgergy at Brigham and Women's Hospital, is best known for his New Yorker articles and several books. Earlier this year he stepped down as CEO of Haven, the joint healthcare venture of Amazon, Berkshire Hathaway, and JP Morgan Chase.

Eric Goosby, M.D. Goosby, a professor of medicine at the University of California, San Francisco, has had a long career working on HIV/AIDS and tuberculosis in a variety of roles.

Celine Gounder, M.D., M.S. Gounder is a clinical assistant professor at NYU Langone Health and an HIV/infectious disease specialist. She is also a journalist and filmmaker and host of a podcast, In Sickness and Health.

David Kessler, M.D. Kessler is one of three co-chairs. Currently a professor of pediatrics and epidemiology at the University of California, San Francisco, he was FDA commissioner from 1990 to 1997.

Julie Morita, M.D. Morita is executive vice president of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. According to her biography on the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation website, she worked for the Chicago Department of Health for 25 years in a variety of roles, including its top position, commissioner.,

Vivek Murthy, M.D., MBA. Murthy is one of three co-chairs of the panel along with Kessler and Nunez-Smith. He was the surgeon general during the last two years of the Obama administration and the early months of the Trump administration. After Murthy refused to resign, Trump fired Murthy midway through his four-year term.

Marcella Nunez-Smith, M.D. Nunez-Smith is one of the three co-chairs along with Kessler and Murthy. She is an associate professor fo internal medicine, public health and internal medicine at the Yale School of Medicine and founding director of its Equity Research and Innovation Center.

Michael Osterholm, Ph.D., M.P.H. Osterholm is the director of the Center for Infectious Disease Research and Policy at the University of Minnesota. He has held numerous advisory positions to the HHS and CDC and worked for the Minnesota Department of Health for 15 years as the state epidemiologist.

Loyce Pace. Pace is the executive director and president of the Global Health Council.

Robert Rodriguez, M.D. Rodriguez is a professor of emergency medicine at the University of California, San Francisco, School of Medicine. He wrote about his experience caring for COVID-19 patients in Brownsville, Texas, in September issue of Academic Emergency Medicine. Rodriguez's monograph discusses the disparity critical care capacity in cities like San Francisco with large academic medical centers and areas like Brownsville, where he was born and has family and friends.

Related Videos
Lawrence Eichenfield, MD, an expert on atopic dermatitis
Video 5 - "Obstacles in Adapting Diabetes Technology to Individual Needs" - 1 KOL is featured
Lawrence Eichenfield, MD, an expert on atopic dermatitis
Lawrence Eichenfield, MD, an expert on atopic dermatitis
Video 4 - "The Impact of Continuous Glucose Monitors & Digital Solutions on Diabetes Care"
Video 3 - "The Pivotal Role of Patient Engagement and Education in Achieving Optimal Diabetes Outcomes"
Lawrence Eichenfield, MD, an expert on atopic dermatitis
Lawrence Eichenfield, MD, an expert on atopic dermatitis
Related Content
© 2024 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.